A few local Apps I found useful

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 15.34.13

Kuwaitiful posted a while back about startups in Kuwait and one of them was Bookr .

Bookr is a an application for men and woman that allows you to book a salon, barber, spa or fitness trainer – with home services for some things.

I tried bookr once for a haircut. I randomly chose a barber shop and a barber. What I liked about the app is that you don’t have to speak to anyone, it’s very easy to use and you can scan a QR code at the place to get points which you can redeem for other services later (love those loyalty programs even though I know they’re a marketing tool and keep making you come back for more). The app also has a map feature so you can’t miss the place.

The better part of the bookr app was that the developer emailed me soon after using the app to take my feedback – which I appreciated. I hope they do look into improving the app. There wasn’t much negative feedback, my only concern was that I had made the booking and there was no confirmation from the barber shop I booked at. I wasn’t sure they actually received my request, even though the app confirmed it. We all know how things can go wrong in these situations so I suggested that an in app notification be added to confirm whichever establishment has actually received your request.

IMG_3593

The other app I liked was Carriage. I haven’t tried it yet but from what I’ve heard so far they have quick delivery times. What I liked most about this app is that they offer great restaurants which normally don’t deliver – like Solo Pizza and Boa. They offer no minimum orders and realtime tracking of deliveries.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 07.36.01

The third app is InRoster. It’s an events schedule app for things happening around Kuwait. I like it’s simple interface and ease of use. I think it needs more people to participate at this time to have a more comprehensive list of events. There are both english and arabic events and it looks pretty easy to add your own activity. You can make your profile and the app will track and notify you about your interests and events you’re following.

 

All apps are available on iOS and Android.

Leave a Reply

