The Hotel Mini-bar Theorem

minigrab2

This is a strange concept, which I’ve experienced a few times but never gave it much thought until recently while chit chatting with some friends.

It’s when you’re willing to dish out money for big things then suddenly you start sweating the small stuff. The first scenario that came to mind was the hotel. You just coughed up a couple thousand dollars for a posh room but as soon as someone reaches for the minibar for snack all hell breaks loose!

It’s usually you who’s put up the dough and it’s usually you who extends that wanting hand in the overpriced minibar to a cold bottle of water or whatever suites your fancy at that moment. The reaction – “wait! Whach’a think ur doin? Do you know how much that costs!? Just wait till we go out or drink from the tap or something”

Now you’re thinking what’s the difference, I just spent a couple grand on the vacation, a $10 bottle of water won’t dent my pocket much. Au contraire my friend, you won’t hear the end of it.

This same concept is applied to other situations also. Fancy restaurants, buying a car….you get the idea.

Note: feature and post image taken from priceonomics.com – The Rise and Fall of the Hotel Mini-Bar – (nice article by the way) , no copyright infringement intended

2 responses to “The Hotel Mini-bar Theorem

  1. looool that’s me ! I rarely used mini bar because I always thought I have an alternative. Unless of course if I needed the water so bad and I didn’t have an alternative… Hahaha… It’s always about what people are ready to pay for (understanding the cost of the very next alternative option and its convenience) …

    Similarly, about cars, in some other Arab countries people almost pay 100% tax in addition to the price of the car… So for example … You get a Toyota there for the price of a Lexus in Kuwait ! Thinking about this was one of the reason of why I bought my convertible Lexus in Kuwait !! But some people would take this as an advantage and still buy cheaper cars to save. It is always subjective !

    Happy to read your unique articles again ! Welcome back !

    Like

  2. looool that’s me ! I rarely used mini bar because I always thought I have an alternative. Unless of course if I needed the water so bad and I didn’t have an alternative… Hahaha… It’s always about what people are ready to pay for (understanding the cost of the very next alternative option and its convenience) …

    Similarly, about cars, in some other Arab countries people almost pay 100% tax in addition to the price of the car… So for example … You get a Toyota for the price of a Lexus in Kuwait ! Thinking about this was one of the reason of why I bought my convertible Lexus !! But some people would take this as an advantage and still buy cheaper cars to save ! It’s always subjective !

    Happy to read your unique articles again ! Welcome back !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

