Thomas Newman – The Inspirational Composer

newman pic

If ever there were a composer who moved me, actually penetrated the depths of my soul, it would unequivocally be Mr. Thomas Newman. He possess a unique ability to put together the exact right notes and other musical magic that is emotional yet inspiring, sad yet riveting.

I never payed much attention to who composed a movie soundtrack until I saw “American Beauty”. The paper bag scene was the one that did it for me. I was completely engrossed with the music and the plane but captive scene. I just thought it was brilliant. I ran to purchase the soundtrack and any other soundtracks by Thomas Newman I could find. Turns out he also composed the soundtrack to “The Shawshank Redemption”. I always know there was something else special about the movie – apart from the story. Much to my ignorance, he has a long list of movie soundtracks under his belt, award winning I might add, all of which I had enjoyed watching. Needless to say, I watched the Shawshank Redemption a few more times……and ever other Newman movie my attention span could endure.

Cathedral – my personal favourite, especially the choir at the end.

Brooks was here is another one that really gets me every time.

Read more about Thomas Newman here

I’m sure if you listen to any of his work, you’re bound to find something special.

Leave a Reply

